Many people are asking me the question of why the status of their friend is not visible for them even if they saved their number in the contacts. It is not an issue or a technical problem. The answer is simple, ‘your friend doesn’t have your number saved in their contacts.’ As per WhatsApp’s privacy, our status can only be made available to those who are in our contacts.
If you check the privacy settings in your WhatsApp (from the application, settings >> accounts >> privacy >> status) you can see only 3 options
- My Contacts
- My contacts expect…
- Only share with…
The first option will let you make your status available to all the numbers saved in your contact, who have WhatsApp account.
The second option will let you make it available to all the numbers in your contact except the selected people.
The third option is mostly some sort of private mode, and you can select only those who like so that people can only see your status.
So as we mentioned, WhatsApp does not have an option to make your status available to the public. So you can only see it if your friend has your number saved in their contact. It does not have any relation whether or not you have their number saved on your contact.
Regarding this same matter, then a second question comes from many users if it is like the way mentioned above, then why they can see the profile picture of their friend if they don’t have your number in their contacts.
It also different and not related to the status. One more time, you can check the privacy settings (from the application, settings >> accounts >> privacy >> profile photo), here you can see 3 options
- My Contacts
Everyone – If it set in this option, anyone who has WhatsApp can see your profile photo, no need to save the number in the contact.
My Contacts – It is the privacy mode, and in this option, your profile picture will only be visible to those numbers saved in your contact.
Nobody – Here, your profile picture is hidden, and only you can see it; no other person can see it.
So in general, WhatsApp status by default (once an account created first) is set to My Contacts and profile picture to Everybody. It can be changed at any time if you need it. The above method mostly works in all the cases; however, for some users, the status still not available for their friends, or their friend’s status not available for them. In this case, before reinstalling or hard resetting the application, try refreshing the contact from WhatsApp from your and your friend’s handsets.
If that also doesn’t work, there is one more step. What you need to do is, remove and add the google account in which your contacts were synced. If you are not sure how to resync your contact with google account, please check the article.