If you are a Snapchat user, you might have seen the text Other snapchatters in the Snapchat story view section. Even though most Snapchat users know What Does Other Snapchatters Mean, for a few, it was still an unknown term, and people are asking who this other snapchatter.
In this article, we are looking at whats does other snapchatters means and how it comes into your profile. The other snapchatters is same as like the unknown snapchatter, as we can see a number of people asking to explain unknown snapchatter meaning along with other snapchatters.
What Does Other Snapchatters Mean?
Nothing to worry about if you ever saw the writing Other Snapchatters within the story view section. It is nothing other than the users who viewed your story, in the case that they were not added to your Snapchat list.
To make it clear, the Other Snapchatters are those who viewed your Snapchat stories, but they were never added to your Snapchat friends list. However, you might have or have not added to their Snapchat list.
You know that if someone viewed your Snapchat story, you could see their name in the story view section. On the other side, if someone not in your circle viewed your Snapchat story, they were grouped in a general category named Other Snapchatters. Here their name won’t be shown; they will be listed as a group of users.
What Does Unknown Snapchatter Mean?
Now let see in detail about the question, “what does unknown snapchatter mean”. To maintain the security and privacy, snapchat will let you to recived messages from person that you know. However if somene you don’t know, sends a message or simply a snap to you. You won’t probabily receive it initially. But you will receive a notification saying that someone added you. It will be shown in the Unknown snapchatter list. Once you approve it, you will recive the snap. So initilaly, the snap will be listed under the Unknown snapchatter list.
Why Does Other Snapchatters Names are not shown?
If someone not in your Snapchat circle viewed the story, as per the Snapchat privacy and policy, the user’s name wouldn’t be displayed. In that place, all the users will be grouped under one category as Other Snapchatters so that you won’t be able to track who else outside your circle viewed your story.
Why My Snapchat Stories Viewed By Other Snap chatters?
If your Snapchat stories are getting viewed by other users, whom you do not add, you have set your Snapchat story view option to the public. Like Facebook, we can put our Snapchat story view option to everyone or with friends alone. If the privacy of the view is set for the public, anyone can see your Snapchat story if they find your Snapchat profile.
So, next time you see the Other Snap chatters in your Snapchat story view section, you get to know that your Snapchat story view option is set to public, not private.
How to Set the Snapchat Story View Option Private
To make your Snapchat story private, follow the below steps.
Step 1: Open the Snapchat app
Step 2: Click on the profile icon at the top left corner
Step 3: Now, tap on the Settings icon from the top right corner.
Step 4: Now, you can see a section named Who Can, and under that, you will see an option called View My Story. Click on that.
Step 5: Now select and set the option as Friends Only.
Done, your Snapchat story is set for friends only and is set to private status. Now onwards, your Snapchat story can be viewed only by your friends.
Once the Snapchat private story view has been enabled, you won’t see the category Other Snapchatters in the Snapchat story section anymore.
Why Snapchat Showing Other Snapchatters list even when the story has always been set to friends only
Many snapchatters report that they see other snapchatters lists showing that their story has always been set to friends only. Why? As we said above, the other snapchatters are those who are not following you or are not on your friends list. If your story is viewed by someone following you, they will be listed directly and not under other snapchatters. But here, the strange thing is that even if the story view is set for friends only, other snapchatters can view them.
The two possible reasons are here. The first one we generally considered to be a glitch in categorizing the snapchatters. So, it is said to be a technical issue. However, another practical reason is that. Let’s assume someone from your friends list viewed your story. Then, for some reason, they start unfollowing you or just unfriend you. In that case, that particular story view will be moved to other snapchatters list and listed as other snapchatter.
Now you might be more clear about the two general questions related to snapchatters; one is unknown snapchatter meaning, and what does unknown snapchatter mean? If you still have doubts about the unknown snapchatter, leave the question in the comment section below, and we will answer them.